New SSLH Vice Presidents

At its recent AGM the Society for the Study of Labour History voted in favour of creating five new Vice Presidents to honour contributions made in the field of labour history. Professor Malcolm ChaseProfessor Hamish FraserProfessor Angela JohnProfessor Chris WrigleyProfessor Eileen Yeo These new appointments will join existing Vice Presidents: Baron Asa Briggs, John Halstead, Professor John F. C. Harrison Continue reading New SSLH Vice Presidents

Maxine Peake and the SSLH support the WCML

The Society has issued a a letter in support of the Working Class Movement Library in Salford after recent accusations made in an election pamphlet by Robin Garrido. Garrido, a councillor and leader of Salford Conservative party, claims that the WCML “is not a proper accessible library, you need to make an appointment to visit. Also you can’t borrow books like you can at an ordinary library.” … Continue reading Maxine Peake and the SSLH support the WCML